There’s never enough time!

books2Ok who else has 400+ books in their “to be read” pile (paper books or electronic)…I know I do. Sheeesh I have at least that many just on the Kindle – and I’ve lost count of how many paperbacks are sitting there waiting, crying out, for attention.

Just when I get to the point of oh look I can start on that one – a book I’ve been waiting for is released!

And what is this nonsense I heard two years ago that paranormal romance is dead? That’s most of what I read. Ok I agree for awhile there, there was a glut on vampires in all forms – but dead? Never.

Of course I’m biased since I write paranormal.

But when do I have time to write these stories while I’m trying to read all of these books? Whenever I can squeeze in 20-30 minutes. Lunch time mostly, when my head is buzzing and I don’t want to think about work.

Which brings me to, how much does what you read influence what you write?

Growing up I didn’t read romance in any form (that I knew of) while my friends were tearing through the Harlequin “bodice rippers” of the 1980’s. I read mainly Science Fiction Golden Age authors, and some Fantasy. In high school I discovered Mercedes Lackey and Raymond E. Feist and the Elfquest books and graphic novels.

I can’t remember exactly when I switched over to paranormal romance – I’ve always been into the paranormal so it wasn’t a big leap – but I do know it was around 2007 when I joined a group of delightful like minded women on line in a chatroom fan group for the tv show BloodTies. They would recommend authors and books and I got hooked. Funny thing was that I had read some of the books and it just never occurred to me that they were “romance” stories, I was all about the action and the story – and yes happy the guy got the girl (or the vampire, were-wolf, witch).

Right now many of my stories are being influenced by the tv show Ancient Aliens – I just love the theories, the history, and the links between cultures worldwide.

It does make you think about what could be out there.

books3Just keep reading!

 

Follow Poe’s Raven back to the welcome page

raven

Leave a Reply

